Thoughts

A voice you cannot ignore

These are the facts.

Over the last few months I’ve had a number of changes happen in my life. One of them being I moved house and got temporarily shacked up in my parents place (using my kid sister’s room, in the meantime while I look for a place), the second one being I’ve recently been promoted in my field. I’m no longer a salesman now, but an Apple technician.

So I’m with my parents and I’m supposed to be looking for a new place to stay, and I haven’t yet found one. Part of the reason is that my workload has doubled, which is a factor, however, you can never blame every situation down to a single factor. Bottomline I haven’t yet got off my ass and scoured the papers enough. Now that you’ve got all that in mind, allow me to set the scene for you…

This is what happened.
It was a Monday. I’d had the day off, and I spent it rather productively, gathering together parts to service my motorbike with. I was pleased. It was now around seven o’clock in the evening. The garage light’s luminescent hue covered me. I sat on the tarmac, my hands buried in the engine, wrestling sparkplugs among other things.

Both my little sisters bounced around with curious little faces, wanting to see what I was up to, and why I was taking so long on a seemingly innocous piece of steel. The one is 9 and the other is 4. The older one got distracted by something inside. This is when Skyla continued to speak to me.

 

Jonna-fin.
“Yes Skyla.”
When are you moving out?
She stared at me, her glasses glinting in the garage light.
“I don’t know Skyla. Well, it’s as soon as I find a place I guess.”
Oh… She paused. Lost in thought for a few seconds, her small silhouette spilled over the black skin of the tar.

Jonna-fin.
“Hmmm?”
Jonna-fin, I really want my room back.
If my heart had been made up of cello strings at that point. She had just taken a finger, and earnestly plucked up very hard.
I looked away to avoid eye-contact, to bury the shame I felt throbbing inside me.
“I know Skylee, I’m busy looking for a place. I don’t have the money this month. But I’m going to move out soon.”

There are some voices you cannot ignore. There is no such thing as sincere as a few words from a child’s mouth. I was deeply moved by that. Looking back I’m really glad that she was honest enough with me.ย I’ve been wanting my own space and freedom for a while now.

More importantly though, I’ll make sure I give my ‘lil sis her room back. It’s the very least I could do.

PhilosopherPoet

Standard

5 thoughts on “A voice you cannot ignore

  1. Michael says:

    Part of God’s infinity is manifest in a little Child’s propensity to exalt in the monotonous. G.K. Chesterton. There’s an honesty that little kids have that we lose at some point, I’d like to go back to that point and prevent myself from losing it.

    • If only we had the guts to get on to the level of a child, then perhaps we could make the monotonous and turn it into meaningful?

      Good quote, although I beg to differ with the part about God’s infinity. God is never an easy topic to talk about (partly because we all have different views about what is ‘out there’). I don’t think God can be linked to children because children are still in the process of discovering themselves. It is because this process is so slow and unharnessed, that we find this insight mythical and shove all the credit on to the Divine.

      To put into another way… A good friend once said to me, “Sometimes kids will just be kids. If you’re a good parent, then you’re comfortable with that.”

Leave a Reply

