Technology

Keep your information hacker-free

I recently mentioned that I cut all ties with my social networks. During this process I realized that I need to beef my own personal security. I may not be a billionaire with a dozen off-shore investments, however, like anyone I’ve still got money in the bank. Having this said…It’s an absolute must that you have multiple passwords.

From time to time I set up Apple IDs for people (i.e. an account with iTunes online, that allows you to purchase Apps, Books, Music, etc). Often I get asked…”Well, can I just use the same password for my email and Apple ID?” My reply is sure you can, but that not very safe or clever. Rather spend some extra time one the Internet and invest in an App that remembers your passwords for you. An App I discovered on the App Store that does this very well is called oneSafe

It’s super user-friendly, and the extra bonus is you can add your Social Networking passwords (including various other accounts) to it such as Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, Gmail, Pinterest, WordPress, and so the list continues. If you don’t have extra Benjamins lying around then you will most likely find a program for your computer that does a similar thing. The key thing to google is “eWallet” (minus the quotation marks). I found this useful App myself simply by typing in “remember passwords” (again without those beautiful quotes).

When I google something I always start out with a broad term, and sift through extra pages until I find exactly the thing I’m looking for. Sometimes the app you need isn’t always lurking in the first pages, and you need to punch a couple rounds into your trackpad to get to it. I’ve also included an excerpt from a fascinating article which also gives good advice on password protection. Click the link below if you want to read the full thing. Otherwise, good luck out there hopefully this will making you feel a little more safe. 😀

Until Apple fixes its porous iCloud security, here are some things you can do to protect yourself:

1. Make sure that you have a strong iCloud/Apple ID password. (Here’s how to change it).
Use unique passwords to protect different accounts (I recommend 1Password for this). If you’re using the same password for your online banking as your webmail account you’re asking to be hacked. At a minimum, use tiered passwords: a superstrong one for anything financial, another one for your email and a third for everything else.
2. Use a throwaway email address (that’s not linked to anything) for forms and retail-related spam. The less personal information that’s in it, the better.
3. Enable two-step verification on your Google account and protect it. Don’t use your primary email address for every retailer and web form that asks for it. (See #3 above.)
4. Buy a domain name, host it with an ISP you trust and set up email accounts on that domain for your high security/financial accounts. Use email accounts you control (not webmail) for high security applications and for password recovery.
5. Use different credit cards for Amazon and your Apple ID.
6. Back up your most important data to physical media that you control. Ideally two copies on-site and one off-site (at work, your parent’s or a friend’s house).

Click here to read the rest of the article.

PhilosopherPoet

Standard

8 thoughts on “Keep your information hacker-free

  1. I have realized some new things from your web-site about pc’s. Another thing I have always presumed is that laptop computers have become a product that each family must have for many people reasons. They supply you with convenient ways in which to organize the home, pay bills, search for information, study, pay attention to music and in some cases watch television shows. An innovative way to complete these tasks is by using a laptop computer. These pcs are mobile ones, small, highly effective and easily transportable.

Leave a Reply

