Rantings

Facebook interrogates our privacy

What’s on your mind?

I’m sure you have heard that one before. Everytime you log on to facebook this is the sentence that daunts you. People often simply add a few mudane facts, from anything to walking the dog, a strange dream they had, or what is currently happening to their taste of food. Sometimes I don’t want to read stupid shit, but since I did sign up for facebook, I do allow certain sentences to rain down on me. This is obviously dependant on the friends I’ve chosen to add.

Something else facebook does rather unconsciously, is turn more and more people into proud bloggers of their own universe. Let’s say that most people have no more than 500 friends each. By adding a status, whether it’s funny or not, you’re asking people to comment…often provoking an online war when that wasn’t your intention. We’re the new proud generation that don’t confront any more, but rather sulk and angrily blog on our iPhones in our bedroom.

There are adults doing this! I read an article in the local paper a few days back. It was based on an academic study of how social networking sites, like Twitter, are making us more lonely. An example the article gave was that at a funeral people were seen checking their blackberry’s for updates. Personal tragedies and mourning no longer have the same effect on us, they’re merely another sordid headline we just turn the page and carry on. This bothers me.

I can’t say I’m damning smartphones since I own an iPhone myself. Although, it feels to me that we’ve been outsmarted by our own gizmos. Social networking may gives us a voice, but perhaps we are bending our personalities to fit in with it all?

I suppose each generation has it’s own problems to conquer. Three brief examples that come to mind are the following:

1980s – The rise of heavy metal in the commercial arena. Now we have parents and churches blaming their kids for listening to devilish music; when all they wanted was to get together with a few friends, some booze, a bankie of weed and lose themselves in the music. Can you blame a few kids wanting to escape? (Its a pretty natural reaction to escape the fiery clutches of bad parenting.)

1990s – The pokemon craze lands. Now millions of kids are suckered into buying cutesy cartoon-studded paraphernalia. The headlines read that a kids jump off buildings or stick their fingers into plugs, claiming a pokemon told them to do it. It sounds idiotic but nonetheless still plausible, that a cartoon can empower a troubled kid and give them a warped sense of comfort.

2000s – Technology booms. Teenagers become addicted to texting and generally walk around with iPods growing out of there ears.

Now why did I choose to use these crazy examples? Well music and cartoons are all understandable when it comes to escape. The problem with technology is it spills over into the adult world as well. I’m in the IT industry so I am not totally against technology but when I see it changing certain nuances in our lives and our language it does make me wonder…are we managing it correctly?

PhilosopherPoet

Standard

2 thoughts on “Facebook interrogates our privacy

  1. Thanks for the post. I think every generation finds a way to annoy the older generation. Social networking is this generation’s heavy metal. It is hard to live in the moment, the here and now, if you are always texting, tweeting, updating the people you aren’t around. Have you ever seen 4 teens sitting at a table all texting someone else?

Leave a Reply

