poetry

Prayer for my Father

I will miss the me
Your broken shadow (creases)
the reflections in the window.
I can smell your dusty soul in
your study, between the books
and the bones.

The computer hums, I can
see your earnest expression
pressed into its blue face.

When someone leaves,
they leave behind the crumbs
of who they are.
I hold your books like
healing stones in my
hooked hands.

Your beard lies buried
in the bed. Curtains
whistle, and the blanket
folds onto me, as certain
as Skin.

PhilosopherPoet

Standard

Leave a Reply

