Rantings

Is Metal Madness?

Well, this has been a long standing debate, that has been going around in my head. Will listening to heavy metal, blunten you or hurt you. Don’t get me wrong…I’m a metalhead myself, but taking into account all the gore, violence, lyrics, musical ‘roughness’, dominant bass…you do wonder whether that shit will actually affect you.

 

 

 

???The Big Question???

Is it bad for me? Should I stop listening to it all together?

I ask this not because I feel guilty listening to the music that I do…but rather because I think that, exposing yourself to an extreme means something is up. Something is happening. I love to genre, but whether you deny it or not…there’s still that question looming over you.

 

 

 

To answer the Big Question, there are a few things you do need to take into consideration.

Such as:

1 Visual Content (the bands image)

2 Lyrics (the clarity, and content)

3 Volume (the level you listen to it at.)

4 Regularity (how much of you day is spent absorbing the music)

5 Appearance (do you dress like the dudes you follow)

 

Visual Content

Well, this one is very interesting. The sound of the band, doesn’t necessarily mean that their image parallels it. Bands that sound light and easy listening…may not have a ‘light’, clean image. Lordi, for example, was a band I discovered in High School. I loved them, since I was receiving pirated copies of their music. If you go visit their web page…you’ll see that that are a monster-band…that if it was not for their lyrics, could be seen as satanic.

So ask yourself how much, blood and guts can I take. Don’t feel bad cause it looks evil, because that’s the general rule of the culture. I myself don’t have issues with it, but if its making you feel bad…find a new band. You may not be religious, but Christian metal is an alternative to album art of bands like Cannibal Corpse, Deicide and Cradle of Filth.

 

Lyrics

They are clearly nihilistic and anarchistic. Even the Christian metal can’t get away without, being angry with the devil and/or sinners who turn their backs on God. Some lyrics are just stupid, end of story. Here’s some bands that have meaningless lyrics, but there songs are still catchy and good:

 

 

Deicide – Sacrificial Suicide

Satanized, crucified, feel the wrath of suicide
Incus fear of the sphere, angel darkness disappears
Covenant, blasphemous, open up unholiness
Father Satan, let me just unholy sins

Suicide sacrifice
Destruction of holy life
Blood of unholy knife
Satan I sacrifice
Behold the crucifix, symbol of sterility I am crucifix
Satan Suicide sacrifice, professing evil night

Lust into reality –
Satan Angel of the black abyss,
Satan lord I hail
Insane blasphemous – Satan
Sacrificial suicide,
Ritual to end my life
Behemoth incense my fate – Satan
Damned to tell, end of my life
Wrath of God – Satan
Sin my soul, blesses with fire
Throne of stone – Satan
I must die, in my wake
Seventh gate – Satan
Suicide, end my life
I must die – Satan
Suicide sacrifice, thrust of evil deep inside
Lucifer never lies, take away thee mortal life
Demigod, Satan son, commend to body to the ground
Father Satan, I’ll find peace when I am God

Suicide sacrifice
Destruction of holy life
Blood of unholy knife
Satan I sacrifice
Behold the crucifix, symbol of sterility I am crucifix
Satan Suicide sacrifice, professing evil night

TAKE ME!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Korn – Falling Away From Me

Hey, I’m feeling tired.
My time, is gone today.
You flirt with suicide.
Sometimes, that’s ok.
Do what others say.
I’m here, standing hollow.
Falling away from me.
Falling away from me.
Day, is here fading.
That’s when, I would say.
I flirt with suicide.
Sometimes kill the pain.
I can always say.
‘It’s gonna be better tomorrow’.
Falling away from me.
Falling away from me.

Beating me down.
Beating me, beating me.
Down, down.
Into the ground.
Screaming some sound.
Beating me, beating me.
Down, down.
Into the ground.

(falling away from me).
It’s spinning round and round.
(falling away from me).
It’s lost and can’t be found.
(falling away from me).
It’s spinning round and round.
(falling away from me).
Slow it down.

Beating me down.
Beating me, beating me.
Down, down.
Into the ground.
Screaming some sound.
Beating me, beating me.
Down, down.
Into the ground.

Twisting me, they won’t go away.
So I pray, go away.

Life’s falling away from me.
It’s falling away from me.
Life’s falling away from me.
Fuck!

Beating me down.
Beating me, beating me.
Down, down.
Into the ground.
Screaming some sound.
Beating me, beating me.
Down, down.
Into the ground.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Metallica – So What

So fucking what!

Well, I’ve been to Hastings and I’ve been to Brighton,
I’ve been to Eastbourne too.
So what, so what.
And I’ve been here, I’ve been there,
I’ve been every fucking where.
So what, so what.
So what, so what, you boring little cunt.

Well, who cares, who cares what you do.
Yeah, who cares, who cares about you, you, you, you, you.

Well, I fucked a queen, I fucked fuck,
I’ve even sucked an old man’s cock.
So what, so what.
And I fucked a sheep, I fucked a goat,
I rammed my cock right down its throat.
So what, so what.
So what, so what, you boring little fuck.

Well, who cares, who cares what you do.
And, who cares, who cares about you, you, you, you, you.

And I’ve drunk that, I’ve drunk this,
I’ve spewed up on a pint of piss.
So what, so what.
I’ve had scank, I’ve had speed,
I’ve jacked up until I bleed.
So what, so what.
So what, so what, you boring little cunt.

Well, who cares, who cares what you do.
Yeah, who cares, who cares about you, you, you, you, you, you.

I’ve had crabs, I’ve had lice,
I’ve had the clap and that ain’t nice.
So what, so what.
I fucked this, I fucked that,
I’ve even fucked a school girl’s twat.
So what, so what.
So what, so what, you boring little fuck.

Well, who cares, who cares what you do.
And, who cares, who cares about you, you, you, you, you, you.

So fucking what! Yeah!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cannibal Corpse – Rotting Head

A quivering pile of useless flesh, locked in a padded cell
Hidden from the prying eyes of curiosity
Experimental surgery made him what he is today
His head is rotting but his body lives on as a worthless vegetable
Unknown to mankind, the incredible power of his mind

Hideous heredity, genetic imbalance, resorting to cannibalism
A feast begins as the patient’s skull is cracked open like a walnut
Brains devoured in a frenzied slaughter, thirst for gore nothing more
Bile is dripping, pus from wounds, as the coroner drinks it down

The sights before your eyes you can’t describe
A trip through this living hell will rot away your skull

Genital lacerating, anal asphyxiation
Blockade of bowel passage, defecation, hemorrhage
Cadaverous mutilation, metamorphial radiation
Devourance of arteries, decapitated extremities
Cranial excavation, cerebral liquidation
Brain turned to soup, ears are dripping goop

Slimy, cozing, dripping pus, torn out fingernails starting to fuse
Shredded cartilage victim lies, eye sockets, but no eyes
Miles of intestines strewn all about, facial features stricken with gout
Hanging bodies dripping with blood, the blackened fluid sinks in the mud

[Solo: Bob]
[Solo: Jack]

A quivering pile of useless flesh, locked in a padded cell


 

 

 

 

Mudvayne – Fall into Sleep

Dreams of earthquakes
Dreams of hurricanes
Dreams of pouring rain
Dreams of tidal waves…to wash us all away
Dreams of guns blazed
Dreams of fire rage
Dreams of swollen graves
Dreams of hollow pain
All gone

No more fallen
No more enemy
No more casualty
No more dream

Fall into sleep
Fall into me
I have a dream
But nobody cares
Nobody wants to listen

Fall into sleep
Fall into me
Hang on to a dream that nobody wants
Nobody cares anymore

Dreams of mourning grief
Dreams of disbelief
Dreams of tragedy
Dreams of our disease…to take us all away
Dreams of fidelity
Dreams of inner peace
Dreams of loyalty
Dreams of unity
All gone
All gone

Fall into sleep
Fall into me
I have a dream
But nobody cares
Nobody wants to listen

Fall into sleep
Fall into me
Hang on to a dream that nobody wants
Nobody cares anymore

The angels are injured
Fall with broken burning wings
Are we dead inside
Are we blind
We can’t keep moving forward
Backwards with closed eyes
We’re losing sight
All lost inside

No more fallen
No more enemy

Fall into sleep
Fall into me
I have a dream
But nobody cares
Nobody wants to listen

Fall into sleep
Fall into me
Hang on to a dream that nobody wants
Nobody cares
Nobody wants
Nobody cares anymore

All gone
All gone
All gone
All gone

 

The following, is typical of lyrics for metal bands. Not all swear but its pretty common. So if you want to listen to the genre you can’t have any hang ups in that regard. I put in the Cannibal Corpse lyrics, to reveal a bit of the extreme side of metal. They are considered one of the ‘fathers’ of death metal itself, starting back in the eighties, they were a high controversial, but nevertheless successful band. All of their album covers are graphic, with gore, rape and violence being one of the most prominent aspects. Deicide is from the same era is Cannibal Corpse, aswell as the same genre. They were taking a different angle as far as lyrics are involved. Self-proclaimed Satanists, they poured images and reference to the occult, and the devil in their lyrics. Superficially, they may seem more ‘complex’ with regards to the themes in the lyrics…but they don’t appear to develop. It’s the same-old nihilistic attitude and theme (i.e. the rejection of distinguished social conventions and beliefs).

I also added some more modern bands namely Korn, Metallica and Mudvayne. The song I selected by Korn is about abuse. This is evident with the phrases “Beating me, beating me. Down, down. Into the ground”. Let’s not forget the third and fourth sentence of the song “You flirt with suicide. Sometimes, that’s ok.” One theme that can be drawn from all the songs above (with the exception to Mudvayne) is death.

Metallica’s lyrics are very hopeful. This song reveals the sexual nature many songs to carry. Its clearly provocative, and sometimes gratuitous. The only vague sort of credit that I can give to this song (since it is by no means one of my favorite), is it has a catchy tune. Personally I just think that its fucking dumb, and pointless. Metallica have brought out far better songs like Master of Puppets, Creeping Death, and Sad But True.

Lastly…it is clear the negativity of these lyrics. The underlying hopeless is also seen in Mudvayne’s song in phrases such as “Dreams of hollow pain” and “Nobody cares [about your dream] anymore”. They may not be as graphic and explicit as the former bands mentioned, but the depression coupled with despair is blatant.

 

Volume

Well, this one is your own problem. I myself am a metalhead, and agree that metal can’t be played softly. On the other hand, if you are thumping metal through your iPod and into your ears, becareful. I spoke to a doctor who specializes in ears (the real name escapes me for a minute), and she reckoned that the main problems in the future will be related to loss of hearing, due to the rise of iPod’s and mp3 players.

So it’s up to you. Just don’t be fucking stupid and nail your ear drums on a daily basis.

 

Regularity

There’s no doubt about it…metal is a very absorbing genre, and it can draw you in. It can seem more powerful if you’re having personal issues, the reason being it acts as a very powerful escape. I believe that escape is a healthy thing (even if it sometimes means, pumping hate and anger into your ears). I fell that it helps men recognize there anger, and express it in a way they doesn’t harm others.

At the same time, its not the only way, men can express their anger. It can become a drug, if you battle to live without it. That’s cool too; just ask yourself why you are listening to it so often. I think its fine to listen to it, but as long as you’re conscious of the reason its so attractive.

 

Appearance

This is the last issue, which isn’t a primary concern, but…it does come into it, if you are a heavy listener/follower of the genre. I myself don’t choose to dress like a demon, since I feel…I’m buying into a stereotype. I’m also chasing away certain people that would normally approach me. My only issues with dressing in dark clothing is that you are submersing yourself even further. You making a statement and saying that this it what I am and how I like to be seen. This is most probably the most public statement you can, make so think before you do it.

It may seem like a lot of fun…but it certainly doesn’t gel with things like the working world or job interviews!

 

 

 

 

!!!The Big Answer!!!

To answer the Big Question. Yes, I do think it can be detrimental to a person’s development. It’s a great tranquilizer, but ultimately the genre is a lot about ‘stuckness’ and not dealing with your shit, and the fucked up mess around us. If it bothers you that much you can decide to stop listening to it, although I don’t think that should be your primary concern. If I were to be more critical, I’d be more worried about the content, than the amount.

 

>May The Metal Be With You

 

 

PhilosopherPoet

Standard

2 thoughts on “Is Metal Madness?

  1. Stein says:

    If I’m honest I dont listen to that much metal anymore… cant take the loudness and distortion, or the lyrics for that matter

  2. ub3rbunny says:

    i do recall lookin at a saint anger cd.. and the red fist.. i was like .. woah thats evil .. so i go home … and then watch mtv … watched metallica saint anger.. i was like.. thats from the same cd i saw … and the lyrics were bout the the kinda stuff i was going through .. and to feel that someone was going through the same frustration that i was going through in a song .. and could explain it so eloquently..i got absorbed into metal …. and i found metal to have meaingful lyrics instead of the pop garbage out there … of course i wouldnt suck up to the first impression .. linkin parks numb( nu metal) followed .. evanescences bring me to life … korns did my time .. i looked at this open mindedly .. and i found nothing wrong with it .. so i embraced the culture … i adopt to new environments easily … so it was like … it was as if i had been listenin to metal since the 90’s… so i pushed it further .. and i came across to bands like cradle and deicide which their savageness and remorselessness pushed me back … cos they were the very bad stereotype pop culture was defining metal … in essence…metal is just music

Leave a Reply

